Becoming A Registered Behaviour Technician (RBT)

When it comes to Behaviour Support, ABA, and the people who implement these strategies, you may hear lots of titles and acronyms being thrown around. But what do they mean and who can use them?

The governing body which oversees the certification of ABA professionals is called The Behavior Analyst Certification Board, or BACB. They set out the standards and requirements to become certified and there are 4 levels of certification:

  • RBT

  • BCaBA

  • BCBA

  • BCBA-D

The basic, entry-level certification is the RBT, which stands for Registered Behaviour Technician. In order to qualify you need a high school diploma and 40 hours of training. You also need to pass a competency assessment, as well as a written exam. There is also work to be done to maintain the credential each year.

Only after meeting all these criteria can a practitioner call themselves an RBT. RBTs are generally responsible for direct implementation of behaviour services, under the direction of a supervisor. The supervisor will have one of the other three certifications offered by the BACB, and usually will be responsible for the design and analysis of the program.

Many people who implement behaviour-analytic services are not RBTs, but here at GSBS we believe it’s a worthwhile endeavour.

Two of our Senior Behaviour Technicians have recently undergone the process and found it very helpful. There are many online services you can access in order to fulfil the requirement of 40 hours of training. We used a site called Rethink, which also has lot of other helpful services and resources available.

Find out more about Rethink here:

To find out more about becoming and RBT, click here:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts